History

John Pack house

Captain John Peck built his home on the hill above the main street of La Conner in 1882. The style is early Victorian, while beautiful not as ornate as later Victorian homes. Now called Katy’s Inn, “John Peck House” is the oldest home in La Conner and features several interesting stories and details.

The Peck family lived in the home many years, and in 1918 it was purchased by Wendell and Rose Whitney. Three generations of Whitney’s lived in the home until the early 1980’s when the house was sold to Vivian and Dale Rancourt, who opened the house as an Inn and named it after their beloved mother and Grandmother Kate…Katy’s Inn. The Hubberts became the next owner’s of the Inn, then the Tracey’s…and now us! Each owner has done extensive work to preserve the integrity of the home.

La Conner was founded in the early 1860’s and is the oldest town in Skagit County. First settled by non-natives just after the Civil War, early arrival and merchant John Conner renamed “Swinomish” after his wife, Louisa A. Conner around 1876. La Conner soon became a popular farm community and hub for the steamers carrying passengers and freight from Seattle. Artists have settled in the area since the 1940’s, enjoying the unique light and inspiration from nature. By the 1970’s tourists had discovered the area too, along with folks seeking the peace and slower pace of a small, old fashioned town.

Today La Conner is a balance of families who work and live here, the Swinomish people across the channel and an influx of visitors enjoying all the seasons of this unique town. It is the logical destination for the city dweller or the traveler who needs a place to relax for awhile, maybe browse through some interesting shops and art galleries, talk to the locals, watch the waterfront activity, sample one of La Conner’s fine restaurants and enjoy a variety of accommodations.

Katty's Inn house

Don’t Forget Your Gift Certificate!

Give the gift of an unforgettable stay.